Loading TOC...
Release Notes (PDF)

Release Notes — Chapter 2

Installation and Upgrade

This chapter describes the supported platforms and upgrade paths for MarkLogic Server, and has the following sections:

Supported Platforms

MarkLogic Server is supported on the following platforms:

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2012 (x64), Microsoft Windows Server 2008 (x64), Windows 7 and 8 64-bit (x64)*
  • Sun Solaris 10 (x64)
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (x64)** ***
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (x64)** *** ****
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x64) SP3** ***
  • CentOS 6 (x64)** ***
  • CentOS 7 (x64)** *** ****
  • Amazon Linux (x64)** ***
  • Mac OS X 10.8 or 10.9*****

* Microsoft Windows 7 and Windows 8 are supported for development only. If MarkLogic Server fails to start up on Windows with the error 'the application failed to initialize properly (0xc0150002)', then a dependency is missing from your environment and you need to download and install the following DLL for 64-bit versions of Windows: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=eb4ebe2d-33c0-4a47-9dd4-b9a6d7bd44da&DisplayLang=en. Additionally, if you get an error on startup saying you need MSVCR100.dll, the install the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package (x64) http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523.

** The deadline I/O scheduler is required on Red Hat Enterprise Linux platforms. The deadline scheduler is optimized to ensure efficient disk I/O for multi-threaded processes, and MarkLogic Server can have many simultaneous threads. For information on the deadline scheduler, see the Red Hat documentation (for example, https://access.redhat.com/documentation/en-US/Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux/6/html/Performance_Tuning_Guide/ch06s04s02.html).

***The redhat-lsb, glibc, gdb, and cyrus-sasl-lib packages are required on Red Hat Enterprise Linux. Additionally, on 64-bit Red Hat Enterprise Linux, both the 32-bit and the 64-bit glibc packages are required.

****Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (x64) is also supported in a VMWare ESXi 5.5 (installed on bare metal) environment.

*****Mac OS X is supported for development only. Conversion (Office and PDF) and entity enrichment are not available on Mac OS X. Mac OS X 10.8 or 10.9 (Mountain Lion or Mavericks) on a 64-bit capable processor is required (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3696).

Certified Filesystems

MarkLogic relies on the operating system for filesystem operations. While any filesystem that works properly (including under heavy load) should work, the following table lists the operating systems along with the filesystems under which they are certified. Other filesystems may work but have not been thoroughly tested by MarkLogic.

Operating SystemCertified Filesystems
Linux (all varieties)

EXT3, EXT4, as well as the clustered filesystems for shared-disk failover mentioned in Requirements for Shared-Disk Failover in the Scalability, Availability, and Failover Guide.

Do not use data=writeback with EXT3 and EXT4 filesystems.

NAS is certified on Red Hat 6 and NetAPP.

Sun SolarisUFS, as well as the clustered filesystems for shared-disk failover mentioned in Requirements for Shared-Disk Failover in the Scalability, Availability, and Failover Guide.
AllHadoop HDFS, Amazon S3 (no journaling with S3)

Upgrade Support

This section describes upgrade support to MarkLogic 8. For details on installing MarkLogic Server and for the upgrade procedure, see the Installation Guide.

Upgrading is supported from 5.0-6 or later. If you are running a release prior to 5.0, you must first upgrade to MarkLogic 5, MarkLogic 6, or MarkLogic 7 before upgrading to MarkLogic 8. If you are upgrading a cluster, you must first upgrade the node in which the Security database forest is located before you upgrade other nodes in the cluster. MarkLogic Corporation strongly recommends performing a backup of your databases before upgrading to MarkLogic 8. Additionally, MarkLogic Corporation recommends that you first upgrade to the latest maintenance release of MarkLogic 5, MarkLogic 6, or MarkLogic 7 before upgrading to MarkLogic 8.

An upgrade from 5.0 to MarkLogic 8 will reindex any databases that have reindex enable set to true. Upgrading from MarkLogic 6 or later does not require a reindex. If you choose not to reindex your databases, they will run in either 5.0 compatibility mode, depending on the version of MarkLogic Server in which they were last loaded or reindexed. Running in compatibility mode will disable certain MarkLogic 8 features and may treat all content in the database as English language content. For details on database compatibility, see the Installation Guide.

MarkLogic 7 and later includes a new rebalancing feature with a more efficient document placement algorithm. Upon upgrade, databases from previous MarkLogic releases are set to use the legacy document assignment policy, which is the same as used in previous MarkLogic releases. If you do plan on reindexing an upgraded database, MarkLogic recommends that you consider setting your databases to use the new bucket document assignment policy. The bucket policy is more efficient for rebalancing your database across forests if you add or remove forests from your configuration. For more details, see Database Rebalancing in the Administrator's Guide.

There are some known incompatibilities between MarkLogic 8 and MarkLogic 7. You might need to make some minor code changes to your MarkLogic 7 applications before they can run correctly in MarkLogic 8. For details on the incompatibilities, see Known Incompatibilities with Previous Releases. For instructions on upgrading to MarkLogic 8, including information about database compatibility between MarkLogic 8 and MarkLogic 7, see the Installation Guide.

« Previous chapter
Next chapter »
Powered by MarkLogic Server 7.0-4.1 and rundmc | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy